$8.50 Flat Rate for shipping in Aotearoa - New Zealand. Free Shipping on orders over $90

American Express Apple Pay Google Pay Mastercard Shop Pay Visa

This section doesn’t currently include any content. Add content to this section using the sidebar.

Image caption appears here

Add your deal, information or promotional text

Adam Silvera

They Both Die at the End

“You may be born into a family, but you walk into friendships. Some you’ll discover you should put behind you. Others are worth every risk.”

On September 5, a little after midnight, Death-Cast calls Mateo Torrez and Rufus Emeterio to give them some bad news: They’re going to die today.

Mateo and Rufus are total strangers, but, for different reasons, they’re both looking to make a new friend on their End Day. The good news: There’s an app for that. It’s called the Last Friend, and through it, Rufus and Mateo are about to meet up for one last great adventure—to live a lifetime in a single day.

 

Alphabet Team Review

What would you do if you received a midnight phone call to tell you that some time in the next 24 hours you were going to die and nothing you could do would change that fact? How would you spend that time?

This book is a story of a last chance and a last day for two very different people who don’t want to go through that last day alone. This isn't really a book about death, but instead about life. It's about becoming the person you want to be without fear holding you back. It’s challenging, beautiful, confronting, lovely, devastating. This book left me ugly crying in a public space because I fell in love with characters who I knew were going to die from the offset. Knowing doesn’t lessen the pain.

I feel a strong link to Mateo who battles with anxiety. He overthinks to the point of being aware that he is overthinking the overthinking. It's not magically cured or something he can just stop, but those around him understand and love him as he is.

-Chelsea

Product Info

Publisher: ‎ HarperCollins Children's Books
Date: December 18, 2017
Language: ‎ English
Paperback: ‎ 410 pages
ISBN-13: ‎ 978-0062457806
Reading age: ‎ 14+

 

Full Description

Adam Silvera reminds us that there’s no life without death and no love without loss in this devastating yet uplifting story about two people whose lives change over the course of one unforgettable day.

New York Times bestseller * 4 starred reviews * A School Library Journal Best Book of the Year * A Kirkus Best Book of the Year * A Booklist Editors' Choice of 2017 * A Bustle Best YA Novel of 2017 * A Paste Magazine Best YA Book of 2017 * A Book Riot Best Queer Book of 2017 * A Buzzfeed Best YA Book of the Year * A BookPage Best YA Book of the Year

On September 5, a little after midnight, Death-Cast calls Mateo Torrez and Rufus Emeterio to give them some bad news: They’re going to die today.

Mateo and Rufus are total strangers, but, for different reasons, they’re both looking to make a new friend on their End Day. The good news: There’s an app for that. It’s called the Last Friend, and through it, Rufus and Mateo are about to meet up for one last great adventure—to live a lifetime in a single day.

In the tradition of Before I Fall and If I Stay, They Both Die at the End is a tour de force from acclaimed author Adam Silvera, whose debut, More Happy Than Not, the New York Times called “profound.”

Featuring a map of the novel’s characters and their connections, an exclusive essay by the author, and a behind-the-scenes look at the early outlines for this critically acclaimed bestseller.

Content Warnings

Animal death
Blood
Child death
Death
Drowning
Gang violence
Grief
Gun violence
Homophobia (minor)
Mental illness (minor)
Panic attacks (minor)
Suicide (past, parental)
Suicide ideation

Packaging

Out & Proud- your purchase will arrive in a box covered in colour - loudly celebrating your purchase from us to you, a member or ally of the rainbow community!

A Quiet Pride- this discreet option is designed to keep you safe while still getting your favourite books in the mail. If you are not out at home or you don’t feel like advertising your rainbow purchase, you will receive a plain brown box with no identifying markers.

Search