$8.50 Flat Rate for shipping in Aotearoa - New Zealand. Free Shipping on orders over $90

American Express Apple Pay Google Pay Mastercard Shop Pay Visa

This section doesn’t currently include any content. Add content to this section using the sidebar.

Image caption appears here

Add your deal, information or promotional text

April Daniels

Dreadnought

"Genetics aren't destiny."

Danny Tozer has a problem: she just inherited the powers of Dreadnought, the world’s greatest superhero.

Until Dreadnought fell out of the sky and died right in front of her, Danny was trying to keep people from finding out she’s transgender. But before he expired, Dreadnought passed his mantle to her, and those secondhand superpowers transformed Danny’s body into what she’s always thought it should be. Now there’s no hiding that she’s a girl.

It should be the happiest time of her life, but Danny’s first weeks finally living in a body that fits her are more difficult and complicated than she could have imagined. Between her father’s dangerous obsession with “curing” her girlhood, her best friend suddenly acting like he’s entitled to date her, and her fellow superheroes arguing over her place in their ranks, Danny feels like she’s in over her head.

She doesn’t have much time to adjust. Dreadnought’s murderer—a cyborg named Utopia—still haunts the streets of New Port City, threatening destruction. If Danny can’t sort through the confusion of coming out, master her powers, and stop Utopia in time, humanity faces extinction.

Book #1 in the Nemesis Series

 

Product Info

Publisher: ‎ Diversion Books
Date: January 24, 2017
Language: ‎ English
Paperback: ‎ 282 pages
ISBN-13: ‎ 978-1682300688
Reading age: ‎ 12+

Full Description

An action-packed series-starter perfect for fans of The Heroine Complex and Not Your Sidekick.

“I didn’t know how much I needed this brave, thrilling book until it rocked my world. Dreadnought is the superhero adventure we all need right now.”―Charlie Jane Anders, author of All the Birds in the Sky

Danny Tozer has a problem: she just inherited the powers of Dreadnought, the world’s greatest superhero. Until Dreadnought fell out of the sky and died right in front of her, Danny was trying to keep people from finding out she’s transgender. But before he expired, Dreadnought passed his mantle to her, and those secondhand superpowers transformed Danny’s body into what she’s always thought it should be. Now there’s no hiding that she’s a girl.

It should be the happiest time of her life, but Danny’s first weeks finally living in a body that fits her are more difficult and complicated than she could have imagined. Between her father’s dangerous obsession with “curing” her girlhood, her best friend suddenly acting like he’s entitled to date her, and her fellow superheroes arguing over her place in their ranks, Danny feels like she’s in over her head.

She doesn’t have time to adjust. Dreadnought’s murderer―a cyborg named Utopia―still haunts the streets of New Port City, threatening destruction. If Danny can’t sort through the confusion of coming out, master her powers, and stop Utopia in time, humanity faces extinction.

Content Warnings

Ableism (r-slur)
Abuse (emotional/mental)
Cancer (past)
Death
Homophobia
Hospitalisation (including surgery)
Guns
Plane crash
Sexism
Transphobia
Violence

Packaging

Out & Proud- your purchase will arrive in a box covered in colour - loudly celebrating your purchase from us to you, a member or ally of the rainbow community!

A Quiet Pride- this discreet option is designed to keep you safe while still getting your favourite books in the mail. If you are not out at home or you don’t feel like advertising your rainbow purchase, you will receive a plain brown box with no identifying markers.

Search